EC4 Summary

logos for various Rhode Island agencies

The Resilient Rhode Island Act established the Executive Climate Change Coordinating Council (EC4) in 2014. It also sets specific greenhouse gas reduction targets; establishes two advisory bodies, the EC4 Advisory Board and the EC4 Science and Technical Advisory Board, to assist the Council; and incorporates consideration of climate change impacts into the powers and duties of all state agencies. The legislation emphasizes the concept of resilience, building on our collective strength to develop practical solutions that allow Rhode Island to “weather the storm.” The 13-member Council is chaired by RIDEM Acting Director Terry Gray.

On April 14, 2021, Governor Dan McKee signed into law the 2021 Act on Climate, which sets mandatory, enforceable climate emissions reduction goals leading the state to achieve net-zero emissions economy-wide by 2050. This legislation updates the previous 2014 Resilient Rhode Island Act, positioning the state to boldly address climate change and prepare for a global economy that will be shifting to adapt to clean technology.

Member Agencies 

RI Coastal Resources Management Council
RI Department of Administration
RI Department of Environmental Management
RI Department of Health
RI Department of Transportation
RI Division of Planning
RI Emergency Management Agency
RI Executive Office of Health & Human Services (OHHS)
RI Infrastructure Bank
RI Office of Energy Resources
RI Public Transit Authority
RI Division of Public Utilities and Carriers
The Rhode Island Commerce Corporation (CommerceRI)